SSL Certificate

Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies

Victoria University in the University of Toronto

Distinguished Visiting Scholars


Distinguished Visiting Scholar: Michel Jeanneret

March 5, 2018March 7, 2018

Event Navigation

Now Professor Emeritus, Michel Jeanneret was for many years Professor of French Literature at the University of Geneva, head of the French Department and Vice-dean of the Faculty of Letters. At the beginning of his career, he was a Research Fellow at Gonville and Caius College, in Cambridge. His wife, Professor Marian Hobson, CBE, FBA, lives and works there and he spends a substantial amount of his time in England.

Apart from being a Distinguished Professor at Johns Hopkins University for five years, he has held posts as Visiting Professor in Harvard, Princeton, Seattle, Irvine, as well as the College de France, Paris-Sorbonne, and the Universities of Beijing and Kyoto. He serves as an expert for different Research agencies in France. He was awarded major prizes by the Academie française, the Academie de Versailles and by the Accademia dei Lincei (Rome). He is a Fellow of the British Academy, of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei and of Academia Europaea.

He is now co-chair of a big research project, seconded by a large digitisation program, on an exceptional collection of World Literature kept in Geneva, the Martin Bodmer Foundation. His personal work is still focused for the most part on Renaissance and XVIIth century literature and intellectual history.


Schedule of Events

Monday, March 5, 2018 at 4:15 tea, 4:30 lecture: Lecture (Emmanuel College, Room 119): Metamorphic Bodies in the Renaissance: Transforming Shapes

Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 4:00pm: Seminar (Goldring Student Centre, Copper Room, Room 216): I Read Therefore I Am: Aspects of Reading in the Renaissance

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 4:15 tea, 4:30 lecture: Lecture (Emmanuel College, Room 119): Metamorphic Bodies in the Renaissance: Identity Changes


2017 – Peter Marshall

2016 – Pamela Smith

2015 – Herman Roodenburg

2014 – Brian Cummings

2013 – Bruce Smith

2012 – John Paoletti

2011 – John Martin

2010 – Patricia Demers

2009 – Andrew Pettegree

2008 – Leslie Peirce

2007 – John Najemy

2006 – Ann Rosalind Jones

2005 – William B. Taylor

2004 – Charles Fantazzi

2003 – Susan Karant Nunn

2002 – Margaret Bent

2001 – Elisabeth Gleason

2000 – Anne Lake Prescott

1999 – Charles Nauert

1998 – Richard McCoy

1997 – Michael J. B. Allen



1996 – Nicholas Mann

1995 – Margaret King

1994 – Ian Maclean

1993 – Peter Blayney

1992 – Eugene F. Rice, Jr.

1991 – Terence Cave

1990 – Annabel Patterson

1989 – Samuel Edgerton

1988 – Heiko Oberman

1987 ——————-

1986 – Nicholas Barker

1985 – John Tedeschi

1984 – Charles Trinkaus

1983 – Paul O. Kristeller


The CRRS welcomes suggestions for Distinguished Visiting Scholars. Click here if you would like to make a suggestion.